CIVIL ADMINSTRATION'N

The District of Gaspe was founded on July 16th. 1788. The County of Gaspe that included the whole Peninsula from Cape-Chat on the north, to Matapedia on the south, was established in 1792 and was divided into two Gaspe and Bonavanture in 1829. the Townships of Douglas, York, Gaspe Bay South and Gaspe Bay North were created on January 1st. 1842.

In 1842 Townships Councils began to exist, before that time the Councils work was done by the Lieutenant Governor and his employees and the records were kept at Quebec.

The Township Council of Douglas was established in 1842, it encluded Douglastown, Haldimand and Sandy Beach. The name of the first Mayor is not known. In 1879 the Township Council was abandoned and two Municipal Councils formed, Douglas East and Douglas West.

Douglas West Council included Haldimand and Sandy Beach, there first meeting was held on April 29th, 1879. Here is a list of Douglas West Mayors since 1879.

1879 - 1894	Robert Pye	1923 - 1950	George R. Ascah
-------------	------------	-------------	-----------------

1917 - 1923 Alvah B. Williamson

On November 20th. 1953 the Council changed the name of its Municipality from (Douglas West) to Haldimand.

Haldimand's 1958 Council,

Mayor-Lionel Suddard, Councillors-Joseph Patterson, Robert Pye, Warren Alexander, Sherman McRae, Charlie O'Brien, and Philip Donavan, Secretary Austin D. Miller.

Population 600